Trans-European Dialogue – TED2024 Conference

Digital governance in the age of AI:
evolving policies, regulations, and practices

7-8 March 2024, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Local organizer: University of Zagreb Faculty of Law



European Group for Public Administration

The European Group for Public Administration (EGPA) is the leading learned society in the field of administrative sciences on the European continent, and a regional group of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences (IIAS).

EGPA supports the development of the IIAS and makes a major contribution to the achievement of the Institute's mission to develop public administration and public service worldwide.

EGPA aims to become the European Platform for Public Administration, involving specialist researchers as well as practitioners.

EGPA contributes to the development of science and research in public administration through its 23 Permanent Study Groups and its specialized seminars on relevant contemporary themes. EGPA also contributes to the development of the profession by providing a unique platform for exchanging best practices that support the work of public administrations and practitioners.



The Network of Institutes and Schools
of Public Administration in Central and Eastern Europe

NISPAcee originated from the genuine effort of people and institutions from the region to share the knowledge and skills and unite the effort to cope with present and future challenges in the field. We believe that thorough and appropriate identification of the present and prospective needs of member institutions along with the effective means of their satisfaction is the most crucial element of the success of our organisation. That is why we accept this mission statement in order to identify, steer and orientate our future activities within the next three to five years. 




The University of Zagreb is the oldest Croatian university and also the oldest university in South East Europe. The university was officially founded in 1669 by Emperor and King Leopold I Habsburg. In 1776 Empress and Queen Maria Theresa issued a decree founding the Royal Academy of Science consisting of three studies or faculties - Philosophy, Theology and Law. During his visit to Zagreb in 1869 the Emperor Franz Joseph signed the Decree on the Establishment of the University of Zagreb. Today, the University of Zagreb is the largest Croatian university with 34 faculties. As a central and leading institution, the University gives special regard to carrying out the programs of strategic interest for the Republic of Croatia and for the development of regional and local communities. All university activities enhance the development of personality and promote human rights and fundamental freedoms.


The Faculty of Law is one of the oldest institutions of the University of Zagreb and the only one with continuity since its inception. The faculty has been gathering knowledge and experience for almost 250 years, and as the oldest and largest faculty of law in the country established itself as the leader in the improvement of legal education and practice in Croatia and a guardian and promoter of Croatian legal culture as part of the Central European legal tradition. As such, it is established in a wider European context as a center of excellence with a recognizable identity and flourishing international cooperation. The mission of the faculty is to educate top experts in the fields of law, social work, public administration and public finance who will utilize their knowledge and skills for the advancement of the practice, education and scientific research in these areas.